The Grace in Random Acts of Kindness

A Random Act of Kindness ~ on my way to a conference last year, I was struggling to get my carry-on luggage into the compartment above my seat on an airplane. I am somewhat vertically challenged. There are always a few moments of intense anxiety as I struggle and worry that I am holding up a line of people trying to get to their seats before the take-off. When I glance at their faces, there usually is at least one eye-roll. Luckily, this time, the man behind me picked up my suitcase and placed it in the luggage compartment all in one graceful sweep. I was deeply grateful.
Even in these simple, small acts there is an energy exchange that is positive for both the giver and the receiver. Carolyn Myss, in her book, Invisible Acts of Power, would say, “He allowed me to keep my dignity and peace of mind and body. He performed an invisible act of power and empowerment.” Ah, the energy exchange: he performed an act of power and empowered me, as well.
A random act of kindness is a kind of grace, an energy flow that occurs between two beings. In theology, grace is defined as unmerited divine assistance, according to Myss.
Leave a comment on any of your experiences in which you were the receiver or the given of a random act of kindness and the grace that flowed from it. I’d love to hear from you.

About whitelotus512

I am a mental health therapist and a yoga instructor. My passion is working with people to help them live their most authentic and joyful lives! Namaste. View all posts by whitelotus512

2 responses to “The Grace in Random Acts of Kindness

  • malcolm laurie

    You triggered a fond memory. It was winter in Chelsea, Ma, I was approx 10 years old. I was walking past the Post Office and an elderly lady was tenatively walking down the icy, snow covered steps. I offered my arm and assisted her to the sidewalk. She turned to me and with a beautiful smile on her face. said God bless you, young man. I felt a glow that perhaps the extent of I’ve never experienced again, and the memory of her beautiful visage is still in my mind 60 plus years later.

    • whitelotus512

      Malcolm, that’s beautiful. I had a similar situation happen when I helped an elderly woman cross a street. It’s funny how those snapshot moments stay with you for all these years!

Leave a Reply

